Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental BiologyMolecular and cellular biologists in our department examine biological processes such as metabolism, replication, transcription, development, and stress responses at the molecular level. Experimentally, this equates to the study of the genes, proteins, RNAs, metabolites, and cellular structures associated with particular processes or phenotypes of viruses, Bacteria, Archaea, and plants. Molecular studies contribute to a broader understanding of how organisms function and interact in the environment, including insight that might be applied to the betterment of the environment and the human condition. For example, the work of several researchers in the department focuses on understanding the role of proteins that control transcription during developmental processes and stress responses. Several others department members use molecular readouts to understand the responses and interactions among organisms that contribute to ecosystem function.  A number of our faculty are members of a campus wide group of researcher with an emphasis in molecular, cellular, and developmental biology.


Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology Faculty

 

Laura Bartley

Laura Bartley
Associate Professor
Plant Biology

lbartley@ou.edu
405-325-1653
GL Cross 150

Plant Cell Wall Biology
Amy V. Callaghan

Amy V. Callaghan
Associate Professor
Microbiology

acallaghan@ou.edu
405-325-1872
GL Cross 713

Systems Biology of Anaerobic Hydrocarbon Metabolism
Anne K. Dunn

Anne K. Dunn

Chair

Associate Professor
Microbiology

akdunn@ou.edu
405-325-6302
GL Cross 712

Marine Molecular Microbiology, Physiology, and Symbiosis
Ben F. Holt III

Ben F. Holt III
Associate Professor
Plant Biology

 

benholt@ou.edu
405-325-9018
GL Cross 219

 

Plant Development, Responses to Hormones and Stress
Elizabeth Karr

Elizabeth Karr
Associate Professor
Microbiology

 

lizkarr@ou.edu
405-325-5133
SRTC 2021/516 GL Cross

 

Gene Expression in Archaea
Lee R. Krumholz

Lee R. Krumholz
Professor
Microbiology

krumholz@ou.edu
405-325-0437
GL Cross 616

Microbial Ecology and Physiology

Paul A. Lawson
Professor
Microbiology

paul.lawson@ou.edu
405-325-4426
GL Cross 813

Microbial Systematics and Taxonomy, Cultivation of Novel Microorganisms, Gut Microbiology, Biocorrosion, Biofuels
Marc Libault

Marc Libault
Associate
  Professor
Plant Biology

libaultm@ou.edu
405-325-6516
GL Cross 32

Plant Cell Response to Stresses
Scott D. Russell

Scott D. Russell
Professor
Plant Biology

srussell@ou.edu
405-325-4391
EML 210

Molecular Biology of Plant Reproduction
Susan J. Schroeder

Susan J. Schroeder
Associate Professor
Plant Biology & Microbiology

susan.schroeder@ou.edu
405-325-3092
GL Cross 028

Viral RNA Structure and Function
Bradley S. Stevenson

Bradley S. Stevenson
Associate Professor
Microbiology

Bradley.Stevenson@ou.edu
405-325-5970
GL Cross 815

Microbial Ecology, Cultivation of Novel Microorganisms, Biocorrosion, Biofuels
Boris Wawrik

Boris Wawrik
Associate Professor
Microbiology

bwawrik@ou.edu
405-325-8596
GL Cross 714

Microbial Ecosystems Science
Jizhong Zhou

Jizhong Zhou
Professor
Microbiology

jzhou@ou.edu
405-325-6073
SRTC

Microbial Ecology and Genomics