Microbiology

The bacterial cell is the single most powerful tool microbiologists have for learning how life works. Researchers in our department use populations of cells grown in the laboratory and those prepared from animal hosts and environmental samples to study cellular functions at the molecular level. From metabolomics to genomics, their goal is to elucidate critical activities that are the cornerstone of bacterial research. You’ll notice that each of these research areas offers unique opportunities to explore the interactions of our favorite bacteria with microbial communities where they reside in nature. The future of microbiology lies in cross-cutting research themes with interdisciplinary participants, something at which our department excels.


Microbiology Faculty


Amy V. Callaghan
Assistant Professor
Microbiology

acallaghan@ou.edu
405-325-1872
GL Cross 713

Systems Biology of Anaerobic Hydrocarbon Metabolism
Irene Davidova
Research   Assistant Professor

davidova@ou.edu
405-325-3771
GL Cross 228

Microbiology of Anaerobic Degradation
Kathleen Duncan
Research   Assistant Professor
Kathleneen.E.Duncan-1@ou.edu
405-325-6927
SEC 558
Molecular Microbial Ecology, Petroleum Microbiology

Anne K. Dunn
Chair

Associate Professor
Microbiology

akdunn@ou.edu
405-325-6302
GL Cross 712

Marine Molecular Microbiology, Physiology, and Symbiosis

 Mariëlle Hoefnagels
Associate Professor
Microbiology & Plant Biology
  

hoefnagels@ou.edu
405-325-5705
GL Cross 224

 

Science Education

Elizabeth Karr
Associate Professor
Microbiology

 

lizkarr@ou.edu
405-325-5133
SRTC 2021/516 GL Cross

 

Gene Expression in Archaea

Lee R. Krumholz
Professor
Microbiology

krumholz@ou.edu
405-325-0437
GL Cross 616

Microbial Ecology and Physiology

Paul A. Lawson
Professor
Microbiology

paul.lawson@ou.edu
405-325-4426
GL Cross 813

Microbial Systematics, Gut Microbiology, Biocorrosion, Biofuels

Michael J. McInerney
Professor
Microbiology

mcinerney@ou.edu
405-325-6798
GL Cross 136/328

Anaerobic Microbial Physiology, Syntrophy, Oil Recovery

Karen Meysick
Lecturer
Microbiology

kmeysick@ou.edu
405-325-4156
GL Cross 138

Science Education, Pathogenic Microbiology

Krithivasan Sankaranarayanan
Assistant Professor
Microbiology
ksankar@ou.edu
405-325-####
SRTC
Microbial ecology, biogeography, and evolution; Human microbiome; Hypersaline environments; Bioinformatics; Ancient DNA

Bradley S. Stevenson
Associate Professor
Microbiology

Bradley.Stevenson@ou.edu
405-325-5970
GL Cross 815

Microbial Ecology, Cultivation of Novel Microorganisms, Biocorrosion, Biofuels

Joseph M. Suflita
Professor
Microbiology

jsuflita@ou.edu
405-325-5761
GL Cross 327 

Biodegradation and Biocorrosion

Ralph S. Tanner
Professor
Microbiology

rtanner@ou.edu
405-325-1647
GL Cross 716

 Biofuels

Boris Wawrik
Associate Professor
Microbiology

bwawrik@ou.edu
405-325-8596
GL Cross 714

Microbial Ecosystems Science

Jizhong Zhou
Professor
Microbiology

jzhou@ou.edu
405-325-6073
SRTC

 Microbial Ecology and Genomics

 

Contact Us
Phone 405-325-4321
770 Van Vleet Oval

Norman, OK 73019
136 George Lynn Cross Hall
Hours: 8:00 am - 
5:00 pm M-F           Closed For Lunch 12:00 - 1:00
Directions

Follow us on Facebook