Environmental Science

Environmental ScienceEnvironmental science is a discipline that spans the fields of ecology, geology, hydrology and atmospheric science.  Researchers in our department strive to gain a fundamental understanding of environmental issues across those disciplines and of the spatial and temporal roles that plants and microbes play within and across different environmental boundaries.   Field and laboratory investigations often comprise a combination of methods including molecular and genetic tools, remote sensing and GIS, analytical chemistry, microscopy, microcosm and mesocosm studies, and numerical modeling and data assimilation.  Several researchers in the department conduct field studies at the University of Oklahoma Biological Station, the Norman Landfill,  Kessler Farm Field Laboratory,  and Zodletone Spring, as well as sites in the San Juan Basin (NM), the Chesapeake Bay (DE, MD, VA), the Gulf of Mexico, the North Slope of Alaska, the Yangtze River Delta of China, and several other regions in southeast Asia.  


Environmental Science Faculty

 

Amy V. Callaghan

Amy V. Callaghan
Assistant Professor
Microbiology

acallaghan@ou.edu
405-325-1872
GL Cross 713

Systems Biology of Anaerobic Hydrocarbon Metabolism
Irene DavidovaIrene Davidova
Research Assistant Professor

davidova@ou.edu
405-325-3771
GL Cross 228

Microbiology of Anaerobic Degradation
Kathleen DuncanKathleen Duncan
Research Assistant Professor
Kathleen.E.Duncan-1@ou.edu
405-325-6927
SEC 558
Molecular Microbial Ecology, Petroleum Microbiology
Anne K. Dunn

Anne K. Dunn
Chair

Associate Professor
Microbiology

akdunn@ou.edu
405-325-6302
GL Cross 712

Marine Molecular Microbiology, Physiology, and Symbiosis
Elizabeth Karr

Elizabeth Karr
Associate Professor
Microbiology

 

lizkarr@ou.edu
405-325-5133
SRTC 2021/516 GL Cross

 

Gene Expression in Archaea
Lee R. Krumholz

Lee R. Krumholz
Professor
Microbiology

krumholz@ou.edu
405-325-0437
GL Cross 616

Microbial Ecology and Physiology

Paul A. Lawson
Professor
Microbiology

paul.lawson@ou.edu
405-325-4426
GL Cross 813

Microbial Systematics and Taxonomy, Cultivation of Novel Microorganisms, Gut Microbiology, Biocorrosion, Biofuels
Marc Libault

Marc Libault
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

libaultm@ou.edu
405-325-6516
GL Cross 32

Plant Cell Response to Stresses
Yiqi Luo

Yiqi Luo
Professor
Plant Biology

yluo@ou.edu
405-325-1651
SRTC 1160

Global Change Biology, Biogeochemistry, Plant Ecology, Ecological Modeling
Michael J. McInerney

Michael J. McInerney
Professor
Microbiology

mcinerney@ou.edu
405-325-6798
GL Cross 136/328

Anaerobic Microbial Physiology, Syntrophy, Oil Recovery

Krithivasan Sankaranarayanan
Assistant Professor
Microbiology

ksankar@ou.edu
405-325-####
SRTC

Microbial ecology, biogeography, and evolution; Human microbiome; Hypersaline environments; Bioinformatics; Ancient DNA
Bradley S. Stevenson

Bradley S. Stevenson
Associate Professor
Microbiology

Bradley.Stevenson@ou.edu
405-325-5970
GL Cross 815

Microbial Ecology, Cultivation of Novel Microorganisms, Biocorrosion, Biofuels
Joseph M. Suflita

Joseph M. Suflita
Professor
Microbiology

jsuflita@ou.edu
405-325-5761
GL Cross 327 

Biodegradation and Biocorrosion
Boris Wawrik

Boris Wawrik
Associate Professor
Microbiology

bwawrik@ou.edu
405-325-8596
GL Cross 714

Microbial Ecosystems Science
Xiangming Xiao

Xiangming Xiao
Professor
Plant Biology

xiangming.xiao@ou.edu
405-325-8941
SRTC 2107

Remote Sensing, Ecosystem Modeling
Jizhong Zhou

Jizhong Zhou
Professor
Microbiology

jzhou@ou.edu
405-325-6073
SRTC

 Microbial Ecology and Genomics